Agro-Climatic Region Of India

India has diverse agro-climatic conditions. It has almost all types of climatic conditions, capable of producing almost all kinds of agricultural produce in one or the other region. Several attempts have been made to classify India into various agricultural regions based on climatic and natural vegetation.

In 1989, the Planning Commission divided India into following 15 agro-climatic regions –

  1. The North-Western Himalayas
  2. The North-East Himalayas
  3. The Lower Ganga Plains
  4. The Middle Ganga Plains
  5. The Upper Ganga Plains
  6. The Trans Ganga plains (Punjab plains)
  7. The Eastern Plateau and hills
  8. The Central Plateau and hills
  9. The Western Plateau and hills
  10. The Southern Plateau and hills
  11. The East Coast Plains and hills
  12. The West Coast Plains and Ghats
  13. The Gujarat Plains and hills
  14. The Western Dry Regions
  15. The Islands



Bibliography : NIOS Geography Book



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s